An extraordinary ending took place at Rally Spain, the penultimate World Rally Championship round of the season. After winning consecutively between 2005 and 2012, Sébastien Loeb achieved his ninth victory in this country. Plus, it’s Citröen’s second consecutive triumph at the Catalonian contest, after the one obtained by Meeke a year ago.

The fight for the drivers world title will continue to be mainly held by Sébastien Ogier and Thierry Neuville, who, at the last section, handed over the third place – by unseating a rear wheel of his Hyundai i20 Coupe – to Elfyn Evans, only five tenths of a second from the Blegian.

The day began with Riudecanyes (16.35 km) and Santa María (14.50 km). Sébastien Loeb made the best time at both, which placed him ahead of the race, surpassing Jari-Matti Latvala by 7.1 seconds, and Ogier by 10.8.

In Santa Marina, where the Power Stage was ran also, Loeb and Ogier animated the final duel, where Ott Tänak was the fastest and added up the 5 extra points. Sébastien Ogier finished second and Loeb third, which confirmed the Citröen driver was the brilliant winner, for the ninth time at the Catalunya Rally, a historic event that nobody else has carried out within the 54 celebrated editions.

The Drivers’ Championship, as well as the Manufacturers’, will be settled at Rally Australia,  the 13th and last round of the FIA WRC, set for 15 to 18 November. Thierry Neuville and Sébastien Ogier are the candidates for the first position, while Hyundai and Toyota are both vying for the manufacturers’ title.