While Pedro Heller and Emilio Fernández get ready to drive a great race at Rally Turkey, we look back to the last round in this European country, held in 2010, between September 16 and 18. How did the competition unfold? Who won? Find out all that happened in the following timeline we’ve prepared for you:


The first day of rally in the Eastern European country was won by Citröen Junior Team driver Sébastien Ogier, who clasped the first place in three sections in a row. The French finished 5.5 seconds above Dani Sordo and had then began the round in the best possible way. The third position was for Mikko Hirvonen, who won a stage, but the Finn had difficulties in coming up to the speed of the Citröen,in his Ford Focus.

Petter Solberg gained the fourth place with his Citröen C4. The Norwegian won the first special stage, but he couldn’t keep a constant pace at the hard gravel roads.


Ogier maintained his advantage in the morning, but a punctured tire made him go off the road, loosing almost three minutes and being relegated to the fifth position. Ogier’s misfortune, together with a great strike in the afternoon, allowed Sébastien Loeb to jump from fifth to first place; he finished the day with a 16.2 seconds advantage.

Solberg had a day without any incidents and finished second, 1.1 second ahead of Hirvonen, who complained about his own lack of pace at the tarmac sections of the stages. Sordo fell into the fourth place after loosing time with a damaged tire at the special stage of Riva, of 27.17 km.


Wet weather proposed a different challenge on the last day, but Loeb managed to successfully cross the slippery sections, as he won four special stages in a row and claimed his 57th victory in his World Rally Championship carreer. The current champion finished 54.5 seconds over Solberg, who, in spite of a differential change from one minute to the next, couldn’t match his rival’s dizzying pace.

Hirvonen fought upstream after a slashed tire was destroyed and filled the Focus’ cockpit with dust, to finally terminate the race on third place. Sordo also suffered an incident on the last day, he got stuck in the mud at the Deniz special stage. Hence, Ogier became fourth and Kimi Räikkönen, former Formula 1 champion, secured himself the fifth position.

The round of 2018 will be raced at roads no competing duo has been down; conditions will be different from what has been known of the last Turkish rally version and many new names fill up the start list of a round that promises wonderful landscapes, complex roads and surprises.